Skip to main content

Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection Advisory Committees Meet With New Members

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (Bureau) today began meetings in Washington, D.C. with members of its revamped Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council, and Credit Union Advisory Council. This is the first joint gathering of these three panels of experts, who advise Bureau leadership on a broad range of consumer financial issues and emerging market trends.

"This marks the first meeting of the experts from outside government that make up the Bureau’s new-look advisory committees, who are providing a wide array of new perspectives to consumer protection," said Bureau Acting Director Mick Mulvaney. "We look forward to hearing high-quality feedback from these experts in consumer finance markets to inform the Bureau’s decision-making going forward."

The Consumer Advisory Board is mandated by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act to advise and consult with the Bureau’s Director on a variety of consumer financial issues. The Bureau also created a Community Bank Advisory Council and a Credit Union Advisory Council. The Community Bank Advisory Council and Credit Union Advisory Council advise and consult with the Bureau on consumer financial issues related to community banks and credit unions. In March 2018, the Bureau issued a notice in the Federal Register outlining the responsibilities of the advisory committees, as well as the duties of their members, and solicited applications for appointment.

The newly appointed members include experts in consumer protection, financial services, FinTech, community development, fair lending, civil rights, and consumer financial products and services as well as representatives of community banks and credit unions. They are charged with identifying and assessing the impact of emerging products, practices, or services on consumers and other market participants. Advisory committee members share expertise across the range of issues under the Bureau’s jurisdiction. New members to the Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council and Credit Union Advisory Council will serve a one-year term.

Consumer Advisory Board Members

  • Liz Coyle, Executive Director, Georgia Watch
  • Sameh Elamawy, Chief Executive Officer, Scratch Services, Inc.
  • Manning Field, Chief Operating Officer, Acorns
  • Jason B. Gross, Chief Executive Officer, Petal
  • Clinton B. Gwin, President and CEO, Pathway Lending
  • Ronald A. Johnson, President, Clark Atlanta University
  • Brent Neiser, Senior Director of Strategic Programs and Alliances, National Endowment for Financial Education
  • Sophie Raseman, Director of Product, Brightside
  • Luz Urrutia, Chief Executive Officer, Opportunity Fund

Community Bank Advisory Council Members

  • John Erik Beguin, Founder, CEO, and President, Austin Capital Bank
  • Bryan Bruns, President & CEO, Lake Central Bank
  • Maureen Busch, Vice President, Compliance and CRA Officer, The Bank of Tampa
  • Michael H. Head, President/CEO/Director, First Federal Savings Bank
  • Aubery L. Hulings, Vice President, Operations Manager, The Farmers National Bank of Emlenton
  • Heidi Sexton, EVP/Chief Operating Officer, Sound Community Bank
  • Jeanni Stahl, SVP/Chief Risk and Compliance Officer, MetaBank

Credit Union Advisory Council Members

  • Arlene Babwah, Vice President Risk Management, Coastal Federal Credit Union
  • Sean Cahill, President & CEO, Southwest 66 Credit Union
  • Teresa Campbell, President & CEO, San Diego County Credit Union
  • Christopher Court, Vice President, Accounting & Operations, Service 1st Federal Credit Union
  • James Hunsanger, Chief Risk Officer, Michigan State University Federal Credit Union
  • Bryan Price, President & CEO, Indiana University Credit Union
  • Eric Schmidt, President & CEO, WestStar Credit Union

More information on the Bureau’s advisory committees can be found here:

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau is a 21st century agency that implements and enforces Federal consumer financial law and ensures that markets for consumer financial products are fair, transparent, and competitive. For more information, visit