Skip to main content

About us

We're the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), a U.S. government agency that makes sure banks, lenders, and other financial companies treat you fairly.

Learn how the CFPB can help you

When am I covered by the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA)?


The SCRA applies to the following servicemembers when they are in military service:

  • Active duty members of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard
  • Members of the Reserves when on active duty
  • Members of the National Guard mobilized under federal orders for more than 30 consecutive days as described in the TIP below
  • Active service commissioned officers of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Under the SCRA, for members of Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, “military service” is defined as serving on active duty under Title 10 section 101(d)(1) of the United States Code.  This is commonly referred to as being on “Title 10 status.” 

For members of the National Guard, “military service” is defined as “service under a call to active service authorized by the President or the Secretary of Defense for a period of more than 30 consecutive days under section 502(f) of title 32, United States Code, for purposes of responding to a national emergency declared by the President and supported by Federal funds.”  

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) provides legal and financial protections to those who have answered the Nation’s call to serve.

Download our fact sheet to learn more:
CFPB Servicemembers Civil Relief Act Fact Sheet

If you still have questions about your rights under the SCRA, contact your local JAG office for more information.  To find your JAG Legal Assistance Office use the locator . You also may be able to get assistance from your state attorney general .  

Learn more about the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act  from the Department of Justice. 

Was this page helpful to you?

Note: Do not include sensitive information like your name, contact information, account number, or social security number in this field.

The content on this page provides general consumer information. It is not legal advice or regulatory guidance. The CFPB updates this information periodically. This information may include links or references to third-party resources or content. We do not endorse the third-party or guarantee the accuracy of this third-party information. There may be other resources that also serve your needs.